Chicken standing still with eyes closed

diamrem

Hatching
Apr 30, 2024
Hello all!

This is my first time posting here. I quite often come across this site while doing research regarding my mums chickens. We've noticed something wrong with one of her chickens, so I thought I could ask here to get some advice to help her! Any advice that I could pass on would be great :) Just as a heads up (its probably relevant for the post), we live in Australia, its quite cold here at the moment since its autumn. It will get colder in winter.

Bare with me, I will do my best to answer the questions from the guidelines!

1) What type of bird , age and weight (does the chicken seem or feel lighter or thinner than the others.)

I believe my mum said Rhode island red. not sure of the weight! and age is around 2 months.

2) What is the behavior, exactly.

She stands in one spot with her eyes closed, doesn't move around like she usually would. She's puffed up and her tail is pointing downwards. Even when the other chickens kinda walk into her or move around her she keeps her eyes closed and doesn't really move. Usually when I'm the one trying to pick any of them up they try to get away but she just let me pick her up and hold her...

3) How long has the bird been exhibiting symptoms?

Just today, I believe.

4) Are other birds exhibiting the same symptoms?

No.

5) Is there any bleeding, injury, broken bones or other sign of trauma.

No, not that my mum or I could see or feel.

6) What happened, if anything that you know of, that may have caused the situation.