Do genetics play a role in winter egg laying?

Ryguy3684

Here comes the Rooster
Premium Feather Member
May 29, 2020
Fauquier County, Virginia, United States.
With spring hatches coming up, I'm thinking about who's eggs to hatch. In the past, I picked my hens that are big, healthy, and lay well throughout the year. I recently got a camera in my nesting room to check who is laying, mostly to head off any issues with an egg bound hen. I have Buff Orpingtons, which are pretty good winter layers. After the molt, they have all laid, but now that the temperatures have dropped, I've noticed that only a few are laying consistently. Most are laying very sporadically, and a few have shut down.

Is winter egg laying genetic? Or, are there too many factors at play to worry about it. Luckily, my two prolific layers are laying almost every day in the winter, so their eggs will be hatched regardless.

I'm no expert on this AT ALL but there must be some genetic component to winter egg laying due to some breeds laying in winter (leghorns, production reds) and some not. But I also think there are multiple other factors like temperature (more energy going to keeping warm) and age (younger hens often lay during winter but don't when they get older).

I am NOT an expert. It does appear to be complicated.

We know light level has an impact.

We know that birds in their first year of age who start laying before winter will generally lay right thru - so there's an age component.

A bird that goes into molt during winter will likely stop laying, or significantly reduce laying, while a bird that completes molt in fall and starts laying again will likely lay right thru (albeit, at lower rates, since egg production tends to drop with age). So the factors that affect molting have some (at least secondary) impact.