Nuggetanddaffy

In the Brooder
Apr 11, 2024
I have a week and a half old duckling. It seems to always overheat. I don’t like the cold so my house is always set to about 75-76 degrees. When I turn the heat lamp on for even a few minutes he completely overheats and starts panting and breathing with his mouth open. I know I’m not supposed to take my duck off the heat lamp at this age because it’s so young, but if it’s overheating this bad should I just disregard the heat lamp completely since he seems to be comfortable with the temperature in my house? Also does anyone know if this could be some kind of medical issue that causes my duckling to overheat so easily? If so what should I do to help him/her out? I’m open to any and all suggestions as I’m very new to this!!

I'm not an expert, can't speak on any potential medical issues but I can offer my 2c. Is the heat lamp positioned on just one end of the brooder so that the duckling can choose how close it wants to be? Can you raise the heat lamp up any higher?

Hey there! Not a duck expert and It could be a lot of things! BUT I would see if you can raise the heat lamp and Monitor its behavior if it stops panting you should be good to go. If not it could be another underlying issue! Best of luck.

You could also get a lower wattage bulb. Does the duckling have a flockmate?
I'm not an expert, can't speak on any potential medical issues but I can offer my 2c. Is the heat lamp positioned on just one end of the brooder so that the duckling can choose how close it wants to be? Can you raise the heat lamp up any higher?
Oh yes. Plenty of room for them (only two ducks) to move away from the heat. Good news is I’ve watched him/ her all night and it seems to have stopped panting
Hey there! Not a duck expert and It could be a lot of things! BUT I would see if you can raise the heat lamp and Monitor its behavior if it stops panting you should be good to go. If not it could be another underlying issue! Best of luck.