My few hours old chick is bleeding from his bum

kbeare

Hatching
12 Years
Nov 12, 2007
Marshville, NC
My three kids and I have been incubating a clutch of eggs. This is the second chick that has come out of the shell with a little blood spot on the bum that leaves blood spots all over the incubator. They are just spots, not gushing, but none the less spots. The last chick that did this lasted about 36 hours before dying. It never seemed to dry out all the way and never really "acted right".
Is there anything I can do or is it just a defect from that particular hen? (both sick chicks are black) We have 4 other chicks (3 yellow and one black) that have survived and are thriving.
I am new to all of this - my first incubator and chicks. Any advice will be GREAT!
Thanks!!!

Last edited:
So where exactly is the naval? Is it on its bum? If so it will absorb up?
This is very fascinating! My 6 year old will love the info. Thanks!

Last edited:
define bum........ if its the butt this might not be normal. i mean bleeding from the butt .never saw that befor.

Yes, I do mean the butt. We had a bad egg explode soon (like minutes) after the chick hatched so when I took it out to clean up that very smelly mess I noticed a small protrusion from his butt - almost like what I would expect a hemeroid to look like. It had a drop of blood on it. After that is when I began to notice the blood drops all over the incubator as he moves around. it is just like the last chick.
Any ideas?

Ok. The chick will have one opening right under it's tail nub. That is the vent, if you blow on it, it will move. Down lower, about half an inch is another rough spot where their naval is, it may pulsate when the chick peeps loudly. The blood spot you see is the naval, not the vent, it is the equivalent to our belly buttons. It will be about 24 hours before anything comes out of the vent.