Very sleepy chick

Purechick

Chirping
10 Years
Jun 17, 2009
I have a young chick that is constantly sleeping. She'll wake up and eat a little bit but then she will immediately go back to sleep. I separated her from the other chicks in case she was sick. Is she sick or is this normal?

Cocci! For sure. Treat her immediately! Cocci doesn't always present with blood stools. With the younger chicks, usually they sleep alot and in particular on their feet where they rock themselves awake and then try to fall back to sleep. Cocci works fast. If you don't have any medication, go get some! I would only treat that chick. No need to put the meds through the systems of chicks who aren't having a problem with it.

I had a baby chick that slept all the time and it ended up dying. What is cocci? I see it a lot and being my first year with chickens I am still learning about these things. Does the medicated chick starter take care of that or is there a different treatment?

Thanks ReikiStar for the information. Unfortunately the feed store was already closed for the day and the chick died that evening:( The others seem to be doing well, hopefully I separated them just in time.

Purechick -- I'm so sorry to hear that.
sad.png
The one thing I would always recommend is to have a Cocci med on hand...even before you bring chicks home. No matter how clean you keep things, chicks manage to eat poo. Someone stepped in poo and then steps in the waterer...contaminated. A weaker chick will be affected. The good thing is the chicks that didn't come down with it are strong.
yippiechickie.gif