Why do my call ducks wings cross?

k0r1nag

Chirping
9 Years
Sep 11, 2010
Kelso
I am new to call ducks and am growing out last Spring's hatching eggs that I bought in order to learn more about this breed. Almost all of my ducks have wing tips that cross each other over their backs when their wings are closed. Some cross more than an inch. I spoke to the person I got the eggs from and was feeding the babies the way she suggested, but now that they are adults, it hasn't gone away. Is this genetic? Do they need a different feed regime to help them "fill out"?

The breeder suggested I feed high protein to the ducks, so they started out on 24% protein starter feed and have been weaned to 20-22% whole grain feed (made of legumes, peas, oats, flax, barley, etc.). And they are out on a grass pasture and get handfuls of timothy or alfalfa hay a few times a week when there is no grass.

I would really appreciate any info!

Korina

It's not a problem so there's no solution. Their wings should be carried well up & tightly folded. The result is the tips will cross.

Last edited:
Thanks so much for the input NYREDS - you have given me great info in the past and I am very appreciative.

The reason I thought it was a problem is that I took two of my "best" pastel hens to a show this Fall and one of the other breeders - one who wins a lot - told me they shouldn't cross or should only cross a tiny bit. We weren't competing against each other in variety, so I accepted her information since I don't know much about the breed. And since none of my birds were small enough and round enough to win anything, I just brought them to to see how they would do so I could learn more about the breed standards.

Thanks again!
Korina