8 week old chicks ! Temp questions ?

kbreak

Chirping
8 Years
Nov 1, 2011
Columbia, MS
I am new to chickens. They appear to feathered out pretty good. The temps this week at night are supposed to be around 40 -50. Should they be ok without a heat lamp? I moved them out to the bigger pen today. It is covered with tarps on 3 sides and top. They have a large pet carrier with hay inside. Will they be ok? Sunday temps supposed to get a little colder in the 30's. Will they be ok without a light? Should I put a smaller pet carrier in there so it will hold in there body heat more?
Thanks for information offered !!

Thank you ! Do you know anything about silkies? How can I tell when they are feathered out and don't need a light.

Is it just a couple of chicks? How many?

I agree with Fred's Hens but make sure that they are feathered out on their heads also (fully feathered) before you consider them fully feathered.

Silkies in my experience require more time to feather out and shiver when the other breeds are just fine.

What I do to transition chicks is to put a 100 watt bulb in the coop thus giving them a place to huddle if they become too cold but doesn't really heat up the coop much.

Be careful though because I had a heat lamp explode for me when it was under a tarp and raining. So I would NOT put a lamp out there under a tarp.

Is it just a couple of chicks? How many?

I agree with Fred's Hens but make sure that they are feathered out on their heads also (fully feathered) before you consider them fully feathered.

Silkies in my experience require more time to feather out and shiver when the other breeds are just fine.

What I do to transition chicks is to put a 100 watt bulb in the coop thus giving them a place to huddle if they become too cold but doesn't really heat up the coop much.

Be careful though because I had a heat lamp explode for me when it was under a tarp and raining. So I would NOT put a lamp out there under a tarp.