Are these chicks slow or sick?

mlheran

Songster
12 Years
Mar 21, 2007
Sonoma County, California
As of today I have six three-week chicks and four one-week chicks. The three-weeks are all healthy, doing normal chick stuff, and feathering out nicely (in their akward teen stage). I bought the one-weeks last Friday; the two Americauna are doing great and have nearly doubled in size, but the Delaware and Buff Brahama are still very small and tend to stand around with their eyes closed a lot.

I've seen them eating the starter (and even some hard-boiled egg) and drinking water -though not as voraciously or as often as the others- and they have no problems with their vents, nor any other abnormalities that I notice. But then, this is my first time with chickens so I may not know what to look for!

This morning I noticed that some of the others were picking on them a little -not enough to make them peep, but picking at their beaks while they were sleeping. I'm worried about them now and am considering taking them out. Should I? Would a fish tank be okay for them? I can't get another heat lamp, so what can I use to keep the temp up? Should I give them some sugared water -or some other kind of supplement? If I don't take them out is there something I can give them that won't hurt the others?

Any thoughts/help is greatly appreciated!

Also, the Delaware and the Buff Brahama were in the same brooder at the feed store -the Americaunas were in another. But all the chicks were very active and healthy-looking -I even picked them myself.