Ayam cemani what to look for when buying ?

Verbon30

Songster
Jul 23, 2019
Lakeland FL
I looking into breeding ayam cemani but I want to good breeding stalk. I been reading on the FM gene how do I tell which chicks are the best and more importantly which will make poor breeding stalk. They are for sale on Craigslist for $30 I sold them some silkies last year she seemed confident about her quality but I don't trust people. I been fooled before I bought some SO CALLED SHOW QUALITY SILKIES. Let's just say that they were not!

This is my understanding, but I'm no expert.

Any bird without the FM gene is obvious because it is not solid black. But, you cannot distinguish the heterozygote (one dose) birds from homozygote (two dose) birds by looking because FM is dominant and they are both solid black.

The only way to know who is homozygous is to do test crosses. If 25% of the offspring have color (other than black) then both parents are heterozygous. If none of the offspring have color other than black, then at least one of the parents is homozygous.

If none of the offspring from any cross in the next generation have color, other than black, then both of the grandparents were homozygous.

Last edited:

Any bird without the FM gene is obvious because it is not solid black. But, you cannot distinguish the heterozygote (one dose) birds from homozygote (two dose) birds by looking because FM is dominant and they are both solid black.

The only way to know who is homozygous is to do test crosses. If 25% of the offspring have color (other than black) then both parents are heterozygous. If none of the offspring have color other than black, then at least one of the parents is homozygous.

If none of the offspring from any cross in the next generation have color, other than black, then both of the grandparents were homozygous. Thanks