Certain breeds (Deserve the Darwin award?)

EdgeC

Chirping
Aug 5, 2023
Anyone notice certain breeds are really smart, while others are well... would be better off if they were a flower and could not move?

I have noticed this more with Easter Eggs/Green eggers. IS it normal for them to be suicidal/kill themselves? I have raised wydottes, barred rock, polish, silikie, astrolorp, rirs, ISA Reds and both types of easter egger (green and blue).

Out of all of these... the pretty egg ones seem to be the most dumb. I have had them fly into water troughs and drown. I also notice their genetics (as a babies) seems weaker, have had the most losses with them. I don't have these issues with the other breeds. Anyone else notice this, what breed?

I have only raised about 100ish chickens, so I am still a newb and this could just be a small sample size... but hot damn.

Must be in the breeding. My Easter eggers have been the ones most able to avoid predation. Intelligence in chickens is relevant to what you are considering to be intelligent behaviors.

If you are having trouble with a particular breed I would search out a different source with different lines. Some are more healthy than others. Since Easter eggers are technically a mixed breed it is hard to compare one to another.

I don't think these things are really about breed, they're more about "breeder." OE, EE is not a breed and there are plenty of people that think mixes/hybrids are actually stronger than purebreds. It's similar to the never ending related dog controversy. I've been doing this for so long that when I realize good health and longevity with a particular breeder, I stick with them.

Must be in the breeding. My Easter eggers have been the ones most able to avoid predation. Intelligence in chickens is relevant to what you are considering to be intelligent behaviors.