First night of integration done

KyCoop

Songster
Oct 23, 2020
Central Kentucky
First night of integration done. With 1 unexpected result. We moved the babies, 2 Delaware and 2 Saphire gems 15 wks old into the coop last night after dark and put them on the roost next to one of the nicer hens. I didn't know what to expect as i have never done this before and we were out of time to keep trying to coax them in. The babies had been sleeping in the run at night.
This morning I went out a little before sunrise to see if everyone was ok. We have an auto door to the coop we left open (very secure run) in case they woke up this morning and all heck broke loose the babies would not be trapped in the Thunder dorm. Anyway, I look out in the run there were hens but no babies. I walk out to the coop and the babies are still on the roost. They were awake and standing looking around like how the heck did we get in here. But they would not get down. Then it dawned on me. They had never walked on pine shavings and were unsure of the floor! I tossed some of the shaving to show them it was not hot lava and they could walk on it. They jumped down and wandered down the ramp.
I wish I had known THATS what they had been afraid of. We will see what happens tonight.

Attachments

• 20220713_195958.jpg
    20220713_195958.jpg
    625.3 KB · Views: 14
That's funny, afraid of the bedding. You just never know with chickens. Sounds like it is working out for you.

When I integrate juveniles mine usually don't sleep on the main roosts with the adults. I really don't care where they sleep as long as it is predator proof and not in my nests. They'll work that out as they mature. But it is pretty common to find the juveniles up on the roost with the adults on the coop floor when I go down in the morning although the juvies slept somewhere else overnight. The juveniles are avoiding the adults until I let them out. That was my first thought when I started reading your post.