Getting two Polish Chickens! Any tips for caring for them?

Pics
57CB553C-F051-45B2-BF32-81F41421EB43.jpeg
My hen laid an egg already.

Yay! Congrats on the egg and on getting Polish - they are my favourite!! I'm no expert myself but I have a pair of 12 week old polish so I thought I'd chime in and keep you company at the very least!

So far, mine have been very easy to care for, but I've raised them from birth in a big (26 chicken) flock of mixed mostly show type birds (but hatchery quality).

Some have problems keeping them with other birds, especially larger ones like leghorns because they might bully the polish for their weird feathering. Mine have not been bullied whatsoever.

Some trim the head feathers if their birds are having a hard time seeing, but I have not (yet) experienced that either. I do check extra carefully in their head feathers for mites, just as I do with my Silkies.

The one thing I have done is just for my Splash Polish cockerel. His head feathers grew in more slowly exposing his pinkish scalp, so I spray his head with blukote just in case the others "see red" and pecked at him. My WCB pullet didn't have this problem so I only sprayed her once when she was very young. I've sprayed my cockerel about four times now.

I want to see your polish chickens. Can you post a picture of them on them on
Yay! Congrats on the egg and on getting Polish - they are my favourite!! I'm no expert myself but I have a pair of 12 week old polish so I thought I'd chime in and keep you company at the very least!

So far, mine have been very easy to care for, but I've raised them from birth in a big (26 chicken) flock of mixed mostly show type birds (but hatchery quality).

Some have problems keeping them with other birds, especially larger ones like leghorns because they might bully the polish for their weird feathering. Mine have not been bullied whatsoever.