Help ! my babies are dieing...

Pokemom

In the Brooder
Jan 5, 2018
Hello I am new to raising chickens and I need some advice. I am recently a new chicken mama. I spent 2 weeks in January looking at every hatchery and finally decided on Hoovers because they had everything that I was looking for. I ordered 17 chicks of varying types (Welsummers, Calico, Rainbow, Isa, Tetra, Production red, Americuana, Delaware). As I am new to raising chickens I wanted to do everything right. I ordered all the vaccinations and beak trimming. Made a beautiful brooder, bought the eco glow 20, set up a beautiful nursery for my babies. I live in Virginia and it took 2 days for the chicks to get to me. Our weather has been very springlike, temps in the mid 60's. My brooder is in my living room that is separated from the rest of the house so it's very quiet and our dogs and cats don't disturb it. I got my order this week..and it has been heartbreaking. I took off from work the day they arrived so very excited to see my babies. They arrived alive and well. Now, I fully expected some to not survive so I was happy that they arrived alive. I even know that sometimes within 48 hours you can lose a few. Well it started with one. I could tell from the start it wasn't well. We seperated it and nursed and she seemed like she was doing great. The next day she died. That morning I also had 3 more die. The next day I had 2 more die. All total so far in less than a week I have lost half of my babies. I was careful to check for pasty butt so I know that wasn't the cause. Hoover did refund my money but that doesn't help when your babies start dying. I am afraid to look in my brooder each morning. Keeping my fingers crossed that the rest of my babies survive. If not, I may not venture into having chickens again. Can anyone give me any advise? Is the Eco glow warm enough (doesn't seem to be 95 degrees like the chicks need but I've read great reviews on it). Am I doing something wrong? This is heartbreaking