ISA Brown gender?

ChickPixie

In the Brooder
Aug 10, 2015
I would love opinions on the gender of my new ISA Brown chicks, they are around 6-7 weeks old.
They have just replaced my lohmann brown cockerels. One seems to have a larger comb & wattle than the other, is that normal? Or have I seriously lucked out again and got a boy?

That's not an ISA brown, that is a Production Red. And it looks like it might be a cockerel.
ISA Browns are a red sexlink. The pullets should be red with some white feathering throughout, usually on the wings and tail.

How on earth did you end up with accidental sexlink cockerels? That's the whole point of sexlinks, they can be sexed at hatching. Both ISA Browns and Lohman Browns are types of red sexlinks.

I'm sorry, I'm new to this whole chick thing. I first got the lohmann Browns from my child's kinder and had no idea they were sex link. Then I got these and were told they are ISA Browns and they are sexed as day olds and is 95% accurate.
So you think they are both cockerels??

I'm saying you didn't get ISA Browns at all. You got Production Reds. And that second chick looks like it might be a boy. That comb is too pink, and it's got a darker shade of red on the wings.
Where did you get these chicks? Was it a feed store? Not all feed store employees know what each breed is supposed to look like as chicks, and they frequently sell straight run chicks as sexed pullets or get the chicks mixed up and put them in the wrong bins. You really have to know what you're looking at when you buy feed store chicks.

No, I didn't get them from a feed store I got them from a farm. I'll call them today to check with them...and ask if I can change the suspect cockerel.
I thought red sex links were white. My bad.