Little chick- what is he? yellow but wings with white and brown/black

Melzawelza

In the Brooder
12 Years
Jun 10, 2007
Hey everyone!! I'm new to chicken owning, and unfortunately it wont last
sad.png

We looked after this little bubby because other baby chickens were pecking at his eyes. they're all fixed up now and i am just completely in love with him. I think he is with me too- he snuggles with me all the time and isnt scared of me whatsoever. im not sure how old he is but i dont think it could be more than a week. in the last day he's been running like a mad thing on my keyboard and flapping his little wings.

I adore him but we cant keep him as we dont have an adequate backyard
sad.png

So anyway, since ill never know what he looks like as a big roo, i though i'd ask you guys if you knew what type of chickie he was, so i could look up pics. thanks in advance!!!

p6070157dh7.jpg

p6100175ca8.jpg

p6100176og1.jpg

Last edited:
My original thought was Red or Gold Sex-Link which would make "he" a "she"!
tongue.png
If the chick has faint darker buff stripes on it's back that would clinch it.

Here's a pic of my Gold Sex-Link hen:
Mar-2.jpg

And you know some people do keep chickens indoors.
wink.png
lol.png

Hey Ella!!

first off, thanks so much for your reply!!

I'm very interesting in him maybe being a hen. when he was sold in a bunch of 30 to my mum's after school care centre they were all sold as roo's but after googling the sexing of chicken's ive learnt that that is not always very reliable. what are the chances of them being wrong?

I'm also not sure what you mean by 'buff' stripes. i dont know much about chicken colours or patterns. could you post a pic that shows me what they are? thanks so much.

If he is a hen rather than a roo, there is a lot more hope for me either keeping him or finding a home for him!