Need a little help determining age....

FreedomFarm13

Crowing
9 Years
Mar 20, 2015
Arkansas
Hi, everybody!! I have four Cuckoo Maran babies that I just got two days ago from the feed store, and I'm having a little trouble figuring out how old they are. I'll post pics in a second, but first I have another question: What would be a reason for one of them to always have an especially crusty butt? All the others always have nice clean butts, but she has poop caked on all the time, and I'm a little concerned that maybe it might even be kinda inside out, but I'm afraid to wipe at it for fear of hurting her. Any ideas on what could be causing this? I'll try to get a pic of her butt, if you think it'll help.

Here they are:

I'm guessing that they're about a week old, but I wasn't sure. Sorry if the pics don't show them well enough, they were afraid of my camera, lol. Thanks in advance for the help!!

Lindsey

I'm new at chicks too

But for what its worth.....

- I think the week guess is pretty accurate
- You should lay paper towel down on top of the newspaper- its dangerous for baby chicks, no traction can cause a leg injury
- It sounds like the third one has crusty butt or maybe even a prolapse. Would need a picture. Search for crusty butt on here- It can be caused by the stress of shipping/ cold (also make sure their temp is around 85ish right now) I'd give her a wam temp bath and try to gently wipe the crusties. If there is a prolapse (where part of her intestines are outside look like a pink bump) After the warm soak apply a tiny bit of Vaseline and gently push them back in.

Thanks, Natalierose, you're a lifesaver!!! I've been stressing about her poor little butt, and wanting really badly to do something, but I wasn't sure what to do. I'll definitely look up the crusty butt thing, and I'll keep you updated on what I find out and her progress! Thanks again, you're awesome!!!

Lindsey