Peafowl Noise, How bad and at what age do they start?

Joe.G

Songster
8 Years
Nov 16, 2011
Eastern NY
Hi, I am still learning about Peafowl, I always hear people talk about how noisy they are. Mine are about 8 Months old, so far I have not heard a peep from them.

At what age do they start to make noise?

Are they noisy all year or just during breeding season?

Do they make noise Like Guineas do for no reason all day long?

What time of day do they seem to make the most noise?

Do males and Females make noise?

Do male and females sound the same?

Hi, I am still learning about Peafowl, I always hear people talk about how noisy they are. Mine are about 8 Months old, so far I have not heard a peep from them.

Mine started making adult noises around five months of age.

Mine make some noise all year long, but mostly during breeding season.

Mine aren't as noisy as my guineas, but the do make noise 24/7 during breeding season.

Mine make noise whenever they hear a loud truck go by, so I can't say for sure since I live on a busy road.

Yes.

Still trying to figure that one out. They do make different noises and I've been trying to figure out what the different sounds mean.

I agree with casportpony's noise assessment.
Our gang free ranges, so their noises are probably different.
But they definitely get more worked up about everything at breeding season.

These peas make a variety noises that I've noticed:
The "I hear a loud noise like a truck/siren/helicopter" shriek. This seems to be males only.
The "There's a coyote/bobcat/hawk, look out" honk. This seems to be males and females.
The "Hey I'm lonely, where are you guys anyways?" honk, male and female.
A variation, the "Hey I'm lonely" chirp-like noise. Male and female.
The "I'm just getting off my nest for a drink of water so you predators don't get any ideas" honk. Females only.
The "Where's my mommy?" sad chirp. From the youngsters.