Those Who Crochet - Can you help me please....

steffpeck

Songster
12 Years
Mar 25, 2007
Erda, UT
I am very new to crocheting, and I am having a hard time figuring out exactly what this is saying. Can someone tell me in regular terms what it is they are saying? Thanks!!

Ch 10 Round 1: sc in second ch from hook. Sc in next 7 ch.. 5 sc in last ch

Your CH 10 is your starting chain,
you're going to turn, skip the first chain, and make a single in the next.
you're going to then make one single chain in each of the next 7 stitches (from your starting 10) and in the last chain you will make 5 single chains in that one stitch.

does that help?

its too bad you didn't have someone there to show you, I learned when I was 7 years old from my grandma, and my mother was an amazing at crocheting and knitting, so I learned a lot.
I was looking on you-tube and found a bunch of crochet videos...
here is one, might help you out.

So when you say in the last chain you will make 5 single chains in that one stitch, does that mean I make 5 sc like my starting 10?? Does that make sense??

Quote:
You will make those 5 in the last chain (the first one you made in your chain 10) you're not making another chain on that end - all 5 are going to be worked into that one chain. (it might get pretty tight to squeeze them in)
Hook in, pull up a loop - yarn over, pull through, hook back into same stitch, pull up a loop, yarn over pull through the two on hook - and keep going till you make 5 in that same stitch.

What are you making? SOunds like you're going to go around the starting chain and work along the bottom edge next? Might be a little confusing - you need to get a picture in your head of what you're going to be doing - makes it easier.

Last edited:
no, it says 5 sc in last chain, or last hole.
single crochet is what that means, the video shows a double crochet, that is wraping the yarn around the hook 1 time, pull through 2, then pull through 2