When to let my hen & chicks out with the flock

NikShrout

In the Brooder
Jul 3, 2022
I have a hen that hatched eggs for the 1st time. when she started setting I moved her to a kennel inside of the run because the other hens kept adding to her clutch. when the four chicks were a day old I came home from work to find two dead baby chicks out in the run. Somehow they got out and the other chickens or roo killed them. so now it's only mama and babies in the run. My question is, when should I let her out with the rest of the flock and the other chickens not kill her babies? I now have another hen sitting in the coop and I don't want to move her but am afraid of the murderous other chickens killing her babies when they hatch too. 🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️. (I have only had chickens for a year so I am new to this killing of chicks behavior 😂)

The way I understand this you had the hen and her chicks locked in a kennel inside the run. The chicks were able to escape the kennel and went into the run with the other hens. The broody hen could not get out of the kennel to protect them and the other hens killed them. To me this is the biggest risk of trying to isolate a broody and chicks. If the chicks can get to where the broody hen cannot protect them they are at risk.

As I see it you have two options. Let the broody and her chicks out together. My broodies protect their babies but some people have broodies that won't.

The other option is to line that kennel with smaller mesh so the chicks cannot get out. If you are going to isolate them make sure they are isolated.

The way I understand this you had the hen and her chicks locked in a kennel inside the run. The chicks were able to escape the kennel and went into the run with the other hens. The broody hen could not get out of the kennel to protect them and the other hens killed them. To me this is the biggest risk of trying to isolate a broody and chicks. If the chicks can get to where the broody hen cannot protect them they are at risk.