EE Gender help, please :-) Oops, maybe not EE after all!

Libchicks

In the Brooder
9 Years
Oct 27, 2010
Hello everyone
frow.gif
I've been lurking around for a while now, admiring everyone's chickens and all the wonderfully helpful advice of the forum members. I'm new to the world of chickens and managed to pick one of the most difficult breeds to sex! I have two EEs that no one seems to be able to agree on, and would love some opinions from people who know more than I do
smile.png
I'm pretty sure one is a rooster, the other I'm not so confident about.

The breeder said both were hatched around July 10, so they're around 16 weeks now. The father was a pure wheaten Ameraucana and the mother was a cross of pure wheaten and black Ameraucanas. I did learn from all you helpful forum folks that the cross breeding makes them EEs and not official Ameraucanas.

This is the whole crew. For size reference, the yawning Australorp in the background just started laying this week (First eggs! So exciting!) The two I am wondering about are in front, Stu has the reddish feathers and Olive(r) has black ones. Stu has some sickle type tail feathers coming in and Olive(r) has a pretty good comb and wattles, but they both have skinny little legs and no crowing yet.

70605_chickens1.jpg

Side view
70605_chickens2.jpg

Front view
70605_chickens3.jpg

Thank you for any help!!
big_smile.png

Edited to change subject, also more pictures below!

Last edited:
They both look like girls, however, neither of them look to be bred from Ameraucana's. If they were nonstandard Ameraucana's (different color Ameraucana's bred together) they would have pea combs and beards, as these are dominant traits. And they don't have wattles. I crossed pure Ameraucana's with my Welsummer rooster, and all the chicks still came out with pea combs and beards. Neither of yours have pea combs and beards and they have wattles.