Animal rights lawyers, need your help!

Status
Not open for further replies.

RadEggs

☆Chicken Chaos☆
Jul 7, 2023
Pacific NW
I am creating a ballot initiative to help chickens, and I would like to know if this is legal:
My initiative is to classify chickens as amenable species (for the humane methods of slaughter act) in oregon, my state, but I am not sure if I can do that, because the HMSA is a federal law, and in the law it states that amenable species are designated by the Secretary of agriculture. Is adding another species just in Oregon legal? Can I do this? Thanks for your help!
If not, do you guys have any suggestions?
20230930_110211.jpg

Glowy says thanks!

My ultimate goal is to get the Humane Society to sue Perdue Farms (the Oregon location).
This will not effect small farmers, because there is not any way to enforce without suing.

I am not a lawyer. I didn't know what an amenable species is so I looked it up. This is what I found.

Amenable species is a term used within the context of USDA's meat and poultry inspection program to signify exotic species (livestock and fowl not covered by the statutes) that might be added to the laws and thus be eligible for mandatory federal inspection

Since chickens are covered by the statutes, how could they possibly be an amenable species?

Hm, another definition, from Cornell is
"Amenable species. A species that is, and whose products are, subject to the Act and regulations promulgated under the Act, except as the Act may provide."

The Act, in this case, is the Federal Meat Inspection Act. Certainly chickens are already subject to that. So, they are already an amenable species.

Last edited:
My ultimate goal is to get the Humane Society to sue Perdue Farms (the Oregon location).
Why Perdue? It is unlikely that they own the processing plant.
This will not effect small farmers, because there is not any way to enforce without suing.