EMERGENCY!!

Status
Not open for further replies.
How rude of everyone not to reply! Please HELP! It's happened twice now. Two days in a row. yesterday we broke the egg and picked all the pieces out and today we got the whole egg out but is this something thats goin to happen all the time. Do we have to cull the chicken??

I don't know what to tell you.....but thought I'd remind you that this is not a chat.....it takes time for people to answer sometimes. I hope someone will come along soon that can help you and your chicken. I know we panic and want an answer NOW! Good Luck to you....

I remember you posting recently about a similar event. What did you do then? I have no experience with this and hence no advice. Sorry about your situation.

Quote:
I would check that attitude at the forum door. If you want someone to reply, calling everyone rude is not a good way to get a response.

Quote:
I would check that attitude at the forum door. If you want someone to reply, calling everyone rude is not a good way to get a response.

Well I think it's kinda crap that 14 people had looked at this and no one could give me any advice. So I think I have the right to be rude to yall

Is this chicken a pullet who just came into lay? If so, she may be producing larger eggs than her body can expel easily. Some pullets take a while to get things going right. Were there double yolks inside, or did it seem like two eggs were stuck together end to end?
At any rate, it sounds like the egg was stuck, and what you did was right. Break the egg VERY CAREFULLY, and then be sure you remove all the shell bits.
If she is an adult hen and this happens all the time, I guess it's up to you to decide if you want to deal with this or cull. If she's a youngster, I'd give her some time to straighten out.
Good luck.