Hen won't eat, no other signs of illness?

Norwegian Chicken

In the Brooder
Oct 24, 2017
Hei all,

I realise this is probably topic #128391 regarding a weird illness. But, I have been reading a lot of information (including this forum and others) on chicken illnesses but cannot figure out what is going on. This forum seems to be full of knowledge I don't have, hence I am posting this here.

First, to set the stage, I am relatively new to chicken keeping. This is my first illness to deal with. We have 9 chickens and 3 ducks (now moulting but otherwise fine). They have an inside coop, a ~5x8m fenced outside area half of which is roofed, but prefer to free roam the entire day in the yard. I feed them layer pallets, free choice shell sand, and regularly a treat such as sweet corn, raisins, sunflower seeds. They show no interest in green stuff as they have plenty of grass and worms in the yard. Winter is coming and we had some frosts lately, but nothing crazy, especially not for Norwegian standards.

I have two "mixed" white/brown hens (probably something Italian in there) who are doing fine and laying well. The problem is with one of my other hens, Jærhøns - a Norwegian breed. They are smallish birds that are really well adapted to free range lifestyles. They fly well, for instance. They are younger, around 16 weeks and not laying yet; combs are not fully grown yet. Most prefer to roost outside, the hen in question is one that sleeps indoors though.

The bird in question:
- Caught my attention two days ago as she was not joining the others running around
- Seemed "tired", closing her eyes while standing still, head slowly moving downwards like she was dozing off, still running when chased (Jærhøns are skittish), acted surprised when I closed in on her while eyes closed
- Tail was all the way down (otherwise very erect in this breed), held her wings low, almost dragging the tips on the ground, fluffing up feathers and sitting still