Mimi13

fuhgettaboutit
6 Years
Jan 6, 2018
Centre, AL
This morning I noticed my CW, Blanca, breathing very strangely, very noisily, with little sneezes interspersed.

A little background: I have a free range flock of 35 and 12 3-wk old chicks inside. I have been keeping chickens for three years and have no history of any respiratory disease in my flock.

Blanca is a 1 year old hen that began having reproductive issues (the first that I was aware of) about two weeks ago with a soft shelled egg. I had to help her “deliver” the remains of the egg. This morning there was evidence on the droppings board of one of the girls laying a partial soft shell. I cannot be positive it was her though.

Anyway, I quickly began searching in “The Chicken Health Handbook” for anything and came across some information stating, “It (salpingitis) usually results from a respiratory infection, ...” If so, what kind of RI might she have?

The only thing I noticed this morning is the breathing noise/sneezing. I have not noticed any nasal or eye discharge/bubbles, coughing, gasping. She was not making this noise first thing this morning when I fed.

The sneezing throws me if her labored breathing could be from a partial egg shell that might still be lodged. Possibility?

I’m at a loss. I do have a cage I can put her in in my sunroom, but that would then put her “inside” the house where the 3 wk old chicks are. She wouldn’t be near them, but still. I have no idea what this is or what to do.

Honestly, my plans were to put the 3 week olds out in their protected run this week, but now I don’t know.

Any and all advice needed please!

ETA: I have on hand Tylan 50 and also Oxine. I have thought about going ahead and giving her a breathing treatment with Oxine.

Last edited:
How is she doing now?
She may be experiencing Stridor - inhaling a piece of food or it could be from mucous or swelling of their airway from inhaling something.