Calcium deficiency, making sure recommended care I got makes sense.

Navigator73

In the Brooder
Jan 14, 2024
I’m pretty new at backyard chckening, and I have a 6 mo old hen that’s been limping for the past couple days, and laid a shelless egg yesterday. I’ve got her inside with her own food with plenty of oyster shells. I talked to folks at the local farm supply store, and they suggested I add calcium gluconate to her water. All they had was this bottle of the 23% that is an injectable for bovine use, but was told can use orally when mixed in water, and to use 1tbs per gallon for chickens. I just want to make sure that makes sense, or did they talk me into buying something that won’t actually help? Just want to get her back up to health. Thanks!

What are you otherwise feeding? As far as shelless goes, it's not terribly unheard of in new layers.

I assume the lamp is caused by a calcium deficiency?

I know that @Eggcessive frequently recommends OTC calcium vitamins for calcium deficiency issues. (like you get from Walmart).

This person is pretty knowledgeable. I'm a little newer at this, too so I'll wait to see.

I pretty new at backyard chckening, and I have a hen that’s been limping for the past couple days, and laid a shelless egg yesterday. I’ve got her inside with her own food with plenty of oyster shells. I talked to folks at the local farm supply store, and they suggested I add calcium gluconate to her water. All they had was this bottle of the 23% that is an injectable for bovine use, but was told can use orally when mixed in water, and to use 1tbs per gallon for chickens. I just want to make sure that makes sense, or did they talk me into buying something that won’t actually help? Just want to get her back up to health. Thanks!

What are you otherwise feeding? As far as shelless goes, it's not terribly unheard of in new layers.

I assume the lamp is caused by a calcium deficiency?