Help- I'm an addict!

Raisingpeeps

Chirping
9 Years
Jul 23, 2014
Quincy, IL
So I am relatively new at raising chickens. We started last year with two Buff Orpingtons, a black australorp, a silver laced wyandotte, a cherry egger, and two easter eggers. When we moved to the country we added a barred rock roo. (8 total)

Well this spring chicken math has hit and BAD! We ordered 15 mixed pullets and 6 cochin from Cackle. Out of the 6 cochin (pretty sure FIVE of them are roosters) we received 3 black and 3 partridge. The pullets were 6 new Hampshire reds, 6 Black sex link, and 5 white rock pullets. (23 added)

Then we (I) happened to stop by the local feed store a few times and accumulated 2 more Easter Eggers, 2 Cuckoo Marans, a golden laced Wyandotte, 2 buff brahma, a salmon faverelle, two silkies, and 8 bantams. (18 more added)
Total of 49 chickens!!!!!! OMG
barnie.gif
What Happened??????

No,,, Really,,, what happened? Is this going to get worse????? Is there a cure????? If not I am in BIG trouble....or maybe I need to buy more acreage!

Seriously- does anyone else have such a crazy mixed up flock? I would love to hear some stories!!!
love.gif

I'm thinking we would be best described as enablers, not recovery helpers
lau.gif

Mine has gotten progressively worse. We have 39 now
idunno.gif
Oops!

You may get "cured" when those babies start eating you out of house and home. Not to mention the amount of space they're going to need as they grow. I hope you have a big shed or plenty of coops! There's my little dose of reality. Not that I can say much. I have 30 two-week old chicks in the brooder, and 6 three-year old hens. If one of those hens should happen to go broody, I will gladly put some fertile eggs or babies from the farm supply store under her.
gig.gif