OneEyedPeep

In the Brooder
Oct 6, 2018
AB0BF3E8-5B6B-416F-9F11-3F79750734BD.jpeg
D1E8F065-3D32-4EA3-A204-EA51E239C705.jpeg
47B15A78-365C-4A43-AEC2-999CD5DA9D55.jpeg
Hello all, so I went in to TSC 3 weeks ago and happened to look at the ducklings, when I noticed a duckling on the smaller side that was missing an eye. The ducklings only remaining eye was also infected. I knew the duckling didn’t stand a chance as the other ducklings with it were quite mean to him/her and who the heck was going to buy a one eyed duckling?! I took the little one home and set him/her up in a plastic tub with shavings, a water dispenser, and duckling starter feed by a Purina. I’m a vet tech and managed to get the ducklings remaining eye cleared up with antibiotics in about a week. Just to inform everyone, my duckling most definitely does NOT have a left eye, and on that same side my duckling’s beak is deformed and indented. Did this occur when the duckling was in the egg? Is it a birth defect or a result of trauma? Well my duckling, I’m assuming is now approx. a month old, and I have a LOT of questions! How can I tell the breed and sex of my duckling?! He/she is growing very well and we’ll be keeping him/her as a pet long term. I could use some help;
What bedding is best for a duck?

How often should he/she be allowed to swim in a baby pool that I bought?

When do I switch from a duckling starter feed to something else, and what feed is that?

I read that fruits and veggies can be VERY good for ducks, so I’ve given finely cut strawberries to him/her. Is that okay? What other fruits veggies are safe to give?

Will he/she be okay as a solitary duck if he/she receives a lot of attention and affection daily?

What type of enclosure is best to keep the duckling in at night outside?

Thank you all SO much!!!

It'll take a while to tell, especially depending on breed. Is that a Pekin?