Onion's Project Thread - Follow Along With Building and Quail!

Squeeing_Onion

Chirping
Jun 17, 2023
I've got individual question threads that help me figure what to do, and wanted a project thread that consolidated what i have done. So, as such, i will be updating this little blogging diary along my journey into the world of caring for Quail. 🥰

Now, get a beverage and snacks if needed, sit back, and be prepared for lots of text because I'm an author, and just can't help myself.

~*~
I first got interested in raising quail about five or six years ago, when a friend brought us quail eggs. Until then, I had no idea you could raise them at home let alone that there were Quail species without the cute little bobbles on their head.

I got as far as finding out that they could projectile poop, and stopped researching 😂 My background in bird keeping comes from a totally different area, rescue parrots. While living on a teeny patch of lawn in a shockingly noisy and busy tiny town of 300, i said no to any species of birds that would make me have to clean poop off the walls, and i had been thinking of housing the Quail indoors.

IMG_20230127_164533373.jpg

This is me with Bongo (Green Cheek Conure) and Echo (Indian Ringneck). I've been living with and rehabilitating parrots since about 2016 when i brought home my first rescue bird, a Sun Conure named Chicken.

Now.... Now we live on thirty acres at the family homestead, and it's zoned agricultural! This suburbs lady is ready to become a farmer. The land here is currently choked by invasive flowers and grasses from a few decades of being uncared for, but there is still a lot of native flora. It used to have horses and farming done on it more than thirty years ago. My great grandparents (who lived here before we did) never sprayed, so it's pretty much as as organic as you can get!