Electric poultry netting question

dreamofwinter

Songster
Mar 1, 2021
Downeast Maine
Electric fencing newbie here - I'm working on setting up poultry netting from Premier1 to fend off the local fox.
I've got an energizer that can use plug-in or battery power. The run is near the garage so I'm planning on running the hot lead and ground out the window to the corner of the garage (keeping the energizer itself inside protected from weather). I want to connect the hot lead to a cutoff switch, then from there run it to the fence about 2' away.

Here's my probably stupid question, though - do I have to connect the hot lead out alligator clamp to one of the galvanized bits that are on the end pieces of the fence? Or can I just connect it anywhere along the net? I'm asking because putting the opening of the fence next to the garage means I'll have to enter and exit the fenced area on the opposite side of where the coop, nest boxes etc are. Not a big deal right now but in winter, it may be.

Would it be better to extend that hot lead out to where I do want the gate? I've got insulated 12ga wire that can be aboveground or buried, and I do have enough to run it out there if I have to, in order to have the electric fence opening in a more logical spot. Would love to hear stories from anyone who has done this.

Second question: my secured run is a hoop run made of cattle panels and hardware cloth. Is there any concern about having the electric fence near this? Is there a minimum distance to keep them separated to avoid any electricity shenanigans?

Last edited:
I believe the galvanized bit is the correct answer. They make two types of fences, one that needs a separate ground and one that can go without. (Actually, three maybe, there's one that the bottom two rows either are unenergized or can be when needed, not sure if that's a P1 fence though.) The weave is wired differently in them, you wouldn't want to clip on to the wrong wire because you might not get full coverage.