Who puts money into their savings (when we have jobs)

unionwirewoman

Songster
12 Years
Sep 14, 2007
Kalispell , MT
Hubby and I have been out of work for 4+ months now ( mostly due to injuries that have led to work comp refusing us and getting sued ) . MY question is......how many actually put money into savings ( not touching it ) until events like this happen ? We were lucky enough to have saved $20,000 in a year and a half in case something like this happened . We live well ( no flat screens , or new furniture , no new carpet to replace the lime green we have ) but we have steak and shrimp 1 aweek (well we used to ) . How many others plan ahead for unforseen circumstances such as these ? Hubbys ex says she can't drive the 10 miles out here to drop off the kids , yet she orders take out and buys new clothes and furniture herself . Just wondering where everyone elses priorities lie .
hmm.png

I do.

I am a Building contractor, in my line of work ( in Michigan) we have highs and lows, feast and famine.....so I have an account that I dip into only when I have to. I don't live high on the hog, all my bills are paid and I "pretend" that account doesn't exist.

Quote:
Sounds like good business sense to me...keep it up...one day you'll thank yourself for it , if you already haven't . We have yet to dip into ours....but that day is coming REAL soon . Glad some people know about rainy day accounts .
wink.png

Always, always "pay yourself" by putting money into your savings then pay the bills. Even if it changes from paycheck to paycheck - remember to pay yourself.

I save a few thousand but should save more. It is roughly 1-2 months of bills and food and such. I am attempting to put away at least 6 months of savings so as to cover everything for 6 months.

Quote: