Hen Still Pecking Feathers

Davea

In the Brooder
Apr 4, 2024
Hi all,

A few weeks ago I posted an issue about tail pecking with my 4 pullets. My 2 golden comets keep pecking the tail feathers of my 2 Azur hens. I got some great advice and the consensus was to increase the run size.

So now I have a little over 7m² (74 sq ft) plus the hen house but they still won't quit pecking. Not sure what else I can do. Their diet is perfect from what I can tell, a mix of kitchen scraps and feed along with whatever bugs they can find.

If anyone has any wisdom it would be greatly appreciated!

Attachments

• 20240420_165931.jpg
    20240420_165931.jpg
    896.7 KB · Views: 39
  • 20240420_165840.jpg
    20240420_165840.jpg
    957.4 KB · Views: 7
No nothing like that, no plucking or blood. The golden comets are at the bottom of the pecking order so I'm not sure it will go that far. Or maybe it will, I'm a noob 😅 Just every chance they get they peck at the tail feathers. The other 2 don't seem to mind at all, I think it's only me that minds tbh.

So the 74 sq ft is the original run plus the narrow extension? From the angle in the photos it looks like the run is pretty much barren of anything they can do - no piles of leaves or hay to scratch through, nothing to climb up on, nothing to provide cover if one bird is chasing another to peck at it. https://www.backyardchickens.com/threads/a-cluttered-run.1323792/page-6#post-25037140 to help illustrate the sort of clutter that helps. Main restriction here is the main run (not sure how many sq ft it is) looks smallish so avoid anything that's too bulky or eats up too much floor space.

How much scraps are you giving them vs feed? What's the protein % of the feed? You may be diluting down the protein too much if you're giving a lot of scraps, depending on the protein numbers for the feed.