High Desert Chicken Newbie

Cindylee3

In the Brooder
Mar 25, 2024
Hello everyone,
I'm so happy to find this forum to learn more about raising healthy chickens. We recently purchased 4 Easter Eggers and want to add a few more, they are approximately 3 weeks old now and it's been a joy to watch them change so rapidly.
We live in the high desert just above 4,000 ft. Our home is on the ridge of a canyon that has fierce winds at times I'm hoping our little chicken hut can withstand that kind of energy, it's arriving on Wednesday!
I am an oil painter who also loves to sew and spend time outside in nature with my little dog Sparrow. 😊

Hello and welcome to BYC! :frow

So glad you decided to join us. Your birds won't like the strong winds and may hunker down somewhere in the coop on windy days, but they will learn to deal with in. Enjoy this new adventure!

Make yourself at home here and welcome to our community!

welcome to BYC! i used to live in the high desert of antelope Valley in Southern California. It’s nice to meet you. Do you have a link or picture of the coop that’s coming? Is it a prefab kit? Most of them are very light weight so you are right to be concerned, you may have to secure it with large tent pegs that go deeply into the ground.

Hello Cindy, and welcome to BYC! :frow Glad you joined.
little chicken hut
This sounds like a prefab. It will not only not be large enough to house your birds, it WILL blow over. They are horribly flimsy and made of very cheap wood. If you can return it without unpacking it, I strongly suggest that.