A Conversation on Equine Breeding/I Need Advice

CHICKEN CRAZY1

Crowing
7 Years
Nov 6, 2012
In the coop talking to my chickens.
Hi everyone!

I have been riding horses for about nine years now, and have been training for more than six. I have trained several rescues and I have decided to take the next step and train a horse from “the ground up” out of a beloved mare. It has been a lifelong dream to breed my own foal. I have done extensive research on the subject via textbooks (as many as I could get my hands on! Lol), forums, online articles, etc. I wanted to learn about this subject because it interests me and is good to know, even If I wasn’t going to breed, so I have devoured everything I can. I have had experience with bovine parturition on the family farm and have raised many bottle calves (I know this is not the same as equine, but it is what I have! Lol) If everything goes well and she can pass a BSE, I will be breeding Glory this summer (I can get some pics if you all want ;D) What I wanted to know is three things:
1) When is the best time for a breeding soundness exam? (she is definitely getting one. Sorry girl! Lol) I wish to have her bred in May so I can fall back in June or July (Three of the equines’ more fertile months due to daylight) I have been unable to find a clearer answer on this. The only advice I have found is that it should be done out of anestrus, and as much time as possible before breeding. When I contacted the owner of the stallion, she said the vet would be able to give her hormone treatment to help her come into heat or ovulate, and tell how close she is to ovulation through palpating or ultrasound. So I a bit confused on when I should have her BSE done. Or should the vet visit twice before she is covered?