First Time Hatching - one chick yesterday, nothing since?

littletadpole

Hatching
Apr 16, 2016
Hello! This site has been a wealth of information and I'm very grateful for everything I've learned here so far!

This is my first time incubating and hatching eggs and it's been an amazing experience. I do have a couple questions that I haven't been able to find a good answer for yet...

Day 21 was on Wednesday (it is now Saturday). Early on there was a day that the temperature in the incubator dropped really low for about 8 hours. I candled a few days later (day 10) and there was lots of movement and everything looked great for 10 out of 12 eggs, whew! I wondered though if this might mean a late hatch because of the long period of low temp. Candled again on day 18 and didn't see obvious movement but did see good veining in all 10 eggs. I struggled a bit with getting the humidity to stay up during lockdown (had to add some sponges and did need to quickly open it up a few more times than I would have liked in order to add more warm water to them). I tried to be as quick as possible, never having the window open for more than a few seconds just to reach in and grab or replace a sponge. The temperature for some reason also doesn't want to stay steady. We are using a Little Giant forced air incubator, temp 99.5 (when it's steady) and humidity I'm trying to keep at 65% (it's jumped to about 70% for short times when re-wetting sponges, and has dipped as low at 55% when things start to dry out).

At about 11:30pm on Day 22 we saw our first external pip. Yesterday (day 23) just before noon we had a successful hatch of one strong, noisy little chick!

None of the others have pipped yet.

Questions: