Tell me about how you breed your guineas!!

Ozarkhomesteader

Songster
9 Years
Oct 18, 2014
Arkansas
Ok, breeding season is coming up, and I am busy getting all my poultry into breeding groups, setting up nest boxes etc. Looking forward to babies!!

This is my first time with Guinea fowl. I have 10, and they are about 10 months old, I got them last April as keets. They free-range on our 24 acres (and the road, and our neighbors property...they like to make the rounds!) and at night they are trained (ok, ok...bribed) to come back to their coop for a little bit of feed and grains. We absolutely love them, they are so fun to watch! Quickly becoming a favorite around here.

I would love to gather their eggs and incubate them to grow the flock, and maybe sell some, as guineas are really desirable in my neck of the woods (probably because we have TONS of ticks here). And I've got a few neighbors down the road who want to buy some if I have any keets...

Anywho. From what I've been reading, guineas seem to be pretty tricky. They lay on the ground (aka totally susceptible to the many predators we have around here) and they are terrible parents! I don't really want to leave it up to them, as I have a feeling I wouldn't be getting any keets. Despite all this, I'm having trouble finding information about HOW people are able to gather eggs. I've thought about making a temporary pen off their coop with bird netting on top, but I feel like they will hate me forever if I lock them up. But if this is the only way...

So how do yall breed your guineas?? I you have them free ranging, are you able to find eggs? Where do you find they like to lay? Do they tend to lay at a certain time of day, or anytime? Would they lay closer to home, or in my neighbors yard? Is there anyway to give them spots and encourage them to lay where you want??

So many question! My apologies. Really any experience or insight you have would be much appreciated!! Thanks!!