Handling older chicks?

Dahlisgrams

Songster
10 Years
Jun 16, 2012
The Big Apple
Please excuse the question if it has been addressed before, but I searched and did not find the answer. I'm a complete newbie and just got my first chicks yesterday. They are approximately 4-6 week old. Six are Ameraucanas (Not Easter Eggers) (2 LF and 4 bantams, 3 of which are from John Blehm's hatchery) and a silver bantam Polish that we're really hoping is a pullet. They made a soggy mess of the bedding in their very temporary home in our dining room which happens to be a big cat playpen and while cleaning it out they had a freak out and flew the coop. I was moving very slowly but it did not seem to make much difference to them as one got scared and the others followed.

Granted, the set-up is very much less than ideal but their coop and run are in the works and I cannot make it happen any faster than it already is. So I have to just do the best I can. Unfortunately, it meant that they had to be caught. The cats were safely put away for the afternoon but I cannot have the chicks running loose in the house.
barnie.gif
I caught them as gently and quietly as possible without "chasing" so as not to scare them further but they were understandably very upset.
sad.png
And I feel terrible about the whole thing.