Help! chicken not coming out of nesting box

septamy

Hatching
7 Years
Jun 14, 2012
Okay I need help!! I am new to the back yard chickens, and I have a 1 1\2 year old tan hen. She has been laying eggs great but then last week she just stopped and won't come out of her nesting box. My husband tried to check and see if there was an egg stuck but he could not feel anything. We have been trying to take her out of there, to at least eat and drink which she does when she comes out but as soon as she goes back in the coop she is right back in the hen house. Now yesterday we noticed that on her once side her wings are all hacked up (almost as if she is pulling out her feathers) Like I said I am new to the chicken thing but I am hoping someone has some clues\ideas of what I could check for.

Thanks

Do you have to move her to collect the other hen's eggs? If so, she has gone broody and is trying to hatch them out. Does she "grumble" at you for moving her or act lethargic and weak, as if she just didn't want to get up?

I also think that she has gone broody. Broody hens go into a trance-like state and will just sit there staring at nothing. Does she almost "scream" at you if you try to get close? Broody hens actually will come out to eat, drink and poo but usually so fast you won't notice. She may of messed up her feathers if she is pressed up close to the side of the nesting box.

If you have a rooster you probably will have chicks in about two weeks!

when we open the door by her nesting area she makes noises and kinda sticks up her butt, and puffs all up. It just seems like when we take her out of her nesting box she is contantly wanting to nest..in the grass..in the dirt.. then she just goes right back in.

if she has gone broody. how do you fix that? Can you fix that??

Last edited: